October 2019 Reviews - Riff Maniac

Go to content

Main menu:

October 2019 Reviews

Reviews > 2019


Featured Band for October 2019

BLOCK BUSTER "Losing Gravity"
LABEL: Frontiers Music s.r.l. - Released on: 13 September 2019


 1.   Out In The City
 2.   Gone By The Morning
 3.   Flammable
 4.   Back From The Shadows
 5.   Losing Gravity (Sweet Mary Jane (Album Version)*)
 7.   Somebody To Shock Me
 8.   Walking Like A Dog
 9.   Move
10.Would You Do It Again


Aarni Metsäpelto – Lead vocals & Guitar
Jaakko Metsäpelto – Drums & Vocals
Joonas Arppe – Bass & Vocals
Elias Salo – Lead Guitar & Vocals
Paolo Caridi – Drums

A great new band from Finland who is sure to please fans from the 70’s & 80’s era.  Their music is a great fresh sound too much of the current music in mainstream.  Losing Gravity is a balance between a ballad and rock with roots.  The track Back from the Shadows is a powerful blend of instruments that creates a rhythm that will get you rockin’.  Be sure to check out this up and coming band as you will not be disappointed.

LABEL: Spinefarm Records Release: 22 November 2019


  01 Can't Lie
  02 I See Red
  03 Shot Down
  04 Flies In The Honey
  05 Papercuts
  06 Seventeen
  07 Toxic Twin
  08 Complicated
  09 Oxygen
  10 Don't Panic
  11 In Your Hands
  12 Stay Here

This is a band with a mission to rock.  The first track I Can’t Lie get the music procession in motion quickly with its rock roots thrown in your face right at the start of this album.  One of the best songs on the album is probably the ballad inspired song Oxygen with its powerful lyrics and powerful riffs of the guitar.  This song will get you breathing oxygen when you listen to it, guaranteed.  Finally, the song In Your Hands is a song that will be sure to please fans of bands like The Smashing Pumpkins with its deep overtones.  Take a moment to check this band out for new music in 2019.

DAWN OF DISEASE - Procession of Ghosts
LABEL: Napalm Records Release: 1 November 2019

Line Up:

Tomasz Wisniewski (Vocals)
Lukas Kerk (Guitars)
Oliver Kirchner (Guitars)
Christian Wösten (Bass)
Mathias Blässe (Drums)

More Info:







  01 Lapsarian
  02 Procession of Ghosts
  03 May the Waves Take Me
  04 Shrine
  05 Where the Clouds Reach the Ground
  06 As Heaven Shatters
  07 Autumn Days
  08 Apotropaic
  09 In Death We Blast (Bonus_Track)
  10 Hypnosis (Bonus_Track)

For those of you looking for something a bit heavy and different then the band Dawn Of Disease is a band you will not want to miss.  With their melodic flaunting guitar and heaving vocals you will not be disappointed.  The song Progression of Ghosts has a powerful vocal presence with a revelation of guitars and drums that will have your heart pumping from the very beginning. Songs like Autumn Days shows the type of band it is with pounding rhythmic drums and grinding guitars that will have you banging your head so hard you will need a neck brace.  I must say this band is an inspiration to the metal scene for fans of Amon Amarth, Dark Tranquility and the like.  If you like heavy heart pounding music, then this band is a must to add to your collection.

Eleine "All Shall Burn (EP)"
LABEL: Black Lodge Records  Release: 22 November 2019


01 Enemies
02 AllShallBurn
03 MeinHerzBrennt
04 HellMoon
05 AllShallBurn

ELEINE’s music is a heavy, dark symphonic metal with an oriental touch that matches perfectly with the vocals by Madeleine.  The guitar work by guitarist Rikard Ekberg provides a stylish symphonic rhythm that fans will love.  Additionally, the accompanying growls are a perfect match for the band.  Although only an EP with 5 songs, this is worth the listen.

Back to content | Back to main menu