December 2018 Reviews - Riff Maniac

Go to content

Main menu:

December 2018 Reviews

Reviews > 2018

December 2018 Reviews

EMIGRATE - A Million Degrees BY
: Spinefarm Records  RELEASE: November 30, 2018
(Review by Leithal-X)

If you are a fan of Ramstein, then you will love this band as it has Ramstein’s very own Kruspe.  This is a very melodic and charismatic album that will have you memorized for hours.  The very first track "War" has a hard rockin' edge that gets you up and running banging your head.   The title track "A Million Degrees" is probably one of the most prolific songs in a very long time.  With its rhythmic transgressions, you will find yourself hum this tune to yourself long after the song is over.  No need to be shy with this one.  The 5th track "Your So Beautiful" is a great song to share with that someone special with its powerful drums and rhythms that have a resonating reverberation that will continue into the night.  Probably one of the most melodic melancholy song on the album is "Eyes Fade Away" the last track on the album.  The 7th track "We Are Together" is simply a masterpiece.  The high and low fidelity of instruments almost makes this seem like a ballad, but then comes back in your face with a strong progression of instrument embellishments.

There is something for everyone on this album no matter what type of music you listen to.  I encourage you to pick up these tracks on the album as soon as possible as there is not one track that will disappoint you.

DREAM CHILD – Until Death Do We Meet Again

Record Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.   Release Date: September 14, 2018
GENRE: Hard Rock
Recommended for fans of DIO, Rainbow, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Last In Line, Resurrection Kings

Looking for some kick ass heavy metal then don’t look any further than Dream Child.  This band is reminiscent of DIO which is probably one of the most influential bands of its era.  The first track takes you back to the roots of true 70’s – 80’s metal that was not reliant on anything but their instruments and talents.  Under the Wire, the first track on the album starts the momentum forward with a strong rhythm guitar riff and heart pounding drums.  The second song has some Def Leopard undertones, but by no means is a copycat.  Instead, this band has some seriously good songs for anyone who appreciates the sounds of original metal bands.  With the legendary bass player Rudy Sarzo , guitarist Craig Goldy and drummer Simon Wright who all played in DIO, one would not expect anything less than a powerful DIO groove to the album.

Band Line Up:
Craig Goldy: Guitars (ex-Dio, Giuffria)
Wayne Findlay: Guitars and Keyboards (ex- MSG)
Simon Wright: Drums (ex-AC/DC, Dio, Operation: Mindcrime)
Rudy Sarzo: Bass (ex-Quiet Riot, Ozzy, Whitesnake, Dio)
Diego Valdez: Vocals (Helker)

1) Under The Wire
2) You Can't Take Me Down
3) Games Of Shadows
4) It Is What It Is
5) Playin’ With Fire
6) Light Of The Dark
7)Midnight Song
8) Until Death Do We Meet Again
9) Washed Upon The Shore
10) In A World So Cold
11) Weird World
12) One Step Beyond The Grave
For More Info Visit:

NAZARETH - Tattooed On My Brain

Record Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.   Release Date: October 12, 2018
FOR FANS OF: Uriah Heep, Deep Purple, UFO, Thin Lizzy, Saxon

For those who have been wondering what happened to the band Nazareth, the wonder is over.  They are back and with a vengeance.  They are as strong as ever and still have the sound fans become accustomed to over the years despite the band’s new singer Carl Sentence since Dan McCafferty had to step down as the original singer due to health reasons.  This band has something for everyone for genres from rock to country and in between.

Never Dance With The Devil
 2) Tattooed On My Brain
 3) State Of Emergency
 4) Rubik’s Romance
 5) Pole To Pole
 6) Push
 7) The Secret Is Out
 8) Don’t Throw Your Love Away
 9) Crazy Molly
10) Silent Symphony
11) What Goes Around
12) Change
13) You Call Me

Band Line-Up:
Pete Agnew - Bass,
Carl Sentance - Vocals,
Jimmy Murrison - Guitar,
Lee Agnew – Drums

STEPHEN PEARCY - View to a Thrill

Record Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.   Release Date: November 9, 2018
GENRE: Hard Rock
FOR FANS OF: Ratt, Motley Crue, Warrant, Cinderella, Winger, Dokken

If you have followed the career of Stephen Pearcy from the early Ratt days then you can’s mistake his voice.  His new band effort self-entitled Stephen Pearcy will continue to deliver what hardcore fans expect.  For those of who miss the true days the birth of metal, this album will return us back to that moment of time when people were driving the ever-nostalgic Trans Am, Firebirds and Corvettes that were synonymous with Pearcy’s fronting the band Ratt.  With the riffs of guitarist Erik Ferentinos and voice of Pearcy, you will not be disappointed with this album.  All the members of this band make this new album a powerful addition to the world of hard rock and worth picking up.

1.U Only Live Twice
2.Sky Falling
4.One In A Million
5.Double Shot
6.Secrets To Tell
7.Not Killin’ Me
8.Dangerous Thing
9.I’m A Ratt
10.From The Inside

Stephen Pearcy-Lead Vocal-Back Ups
Erik Ferentinos - ALL guitars - Rhythm & Lead Guitars, Back Up Vocals, Keys
Matt Thorne - Bass Guitars, Keys, Back Up Vocals
Scot Coogan - Drums

Looking for something a little more old school rock, like say the fabulous 80's?  Then this album is for you.  Johnny Gioeli has been part of bands like Hardline, Crush 40, and Axel Rudi Pell, which have all been powerful bands from the 80's era.  Like many, there is are no bands that are more rememorable than the bands from the 80's and 90's.  Even today, the younger generations are still listening to bands like Queen, AC/DC and Metallica which shows the staying power rock has.

However, a big portion of the money raised for this album through a crowd funding campaign is going directly to help a young man named Joe Barber. Joe needs help in his recovery from an accident last year that has left him paralyzed. Be sure to purchase this album for a great cause and give support to someone in need.

Back to content | Back to main menu